Error message

Notice: Only variables should be passed by reference in _submenutree_block_extended_links() (line 668 of /home/zoegvb52bkg7/public_html/sites/all/modules/submenutree/submenutree.module).

Warning message

Mean Menu style requires jQuery library version 1.7 or higher, but you have opted to provide your own library. Please ensure you have the proper version of jQuery included. (note: this is not an error)

Estd : July 3, 1899


Langat Singh College, popularly known as L. S. College, is the premier and oldest higher educational institution of North Bihar having an indelible footprint in educational, literary, social and political life of Bihar. It was founded in 1899 in the backdrop of emerging Indian nationalism by broader community support. Babu Langat Singh played the most prominent part in its establishment. In the year of 1900, the college was affiliated to Calcutta University. It was declared Government College in 1915 and subsequently affiliated to Patna University in 1917. In 1952, Bihar University was established with headquarters at Muzaffarpur and the college was affiliated to this new University. It is quite evident that the College is much older than the present B. R. A. Bihar University, Muzaffarpur. The Post Graduate Departments of B. R. A.Bihar University got bifurcated from this institution in 1979. From 1984 post graduate studies of various streams have been restored at this college. The college has a huge and magnificent building incorporating the feature of Indo-Sarcenic architectural style. It was modelled after Balliol College of Oxford.

The chief objective of the college, since its inception, has been to shape the young minds with the urge for creativity, spirit of tolerance and scientific temper. To cope with the changing needs of society and economy, vocational courses have been introduced along with conventional courses.

Luminaries attached to college as faculty members include Deshratna Dr. Rajendra Prasad, Acharya J.B. Kripalani, Rashtrakavi Ramdhari Singh Dinkar, H.R. Malkani, H.R. Ghosal, Y.J. Taraporewala, Dr. F. Rahman, W. Austin Smith, R.P. Khosla, Dr. D. N. Chaudhary, Dr. T. Sharma, Dr. S. P. Singh, Dr. B. R. Singh, Dr. Jagarnath Mishra, Dr. Hargovind Singh and others. The college had its historic tryst with Mahatma Gandhi when he came to the college campus on the 11th of April 1917 on his way to Champaran Satyagraha and stayed with J.B. Kripalani and H.R. Malkani.

To live up to its traditions and to cope with the emerging challenges of InfoTech revolution and creation of a knowledge society the college is aspiring to transform itself into a modern and technology savvy institution.